Are Carl Jung’s Ideas About Archetypes Scientific?

Someone asked me recently, and I can’t help but share my thoughts.

Zachary Burres
2 min readNov 6, 2021

--

The idea of archetypes comes from psychotherapist Carl Jung. For psychology being a very young science, this makes Jung's psychology even more so. So it's definitely easy to push the archetypes aside as "pseudoscience," but then you would be missing out on their point and value.

As far as my understanding goes, Jung's research is observational, based on his extensive experience as a clinical psychologist. He would see something in a person, and then probe them about it, and try to abstract the process from them to help others with the same method.

He also read a significant amount of alchemical and religious literature from many time periods, which he believed to be projections of the human psyche across history. In essence, his scientific method was statistical analysis-- pointing out a million instances of interesting psychological data and then being like "this can't be a coincidence."

So no, I don't think he's scientific in the materialist reductionist sense. That is, he doesn’t try to reduce every phenomenon to the results of interactions between lifeless matter. I think he's scientific in the "I am sharing what I saw so that you can try it for yourself and see what…

--

--